theswedishcollection.blogg.se

Decorative Painting

How to; Photo wallpaper

Kategori: Allmänt

 
I always start out by finding a clean spot on the floor or a table in the house or the apartment where i´m installing the wallpaper. in 99 percent of the cases I´m using a table, but in this case there was no place to put it.
 
1. Start by open the roll of wallpaper to make sure its not damaged or other defects ,and also make sure all the length are there!
I assure you it´s not fun when you´re almost done and you realize that one piece is missing.
2. Make sure your wall has a good basecoat that´s matching the wallpaper (in this case i choosed white, because of the white background in the wallpaper). When the basecoat is dry, give it a nice sanding with a 120-180 grid sandpaper to knock of the highpoints.
3. Even if you´re almost a 100 percent sure that your corner is straight (or wherever your thinking about to start) it´s not. Allways use a level, and draw a loose line with a hard pen (H3-5 is fine).
4.This photo wallpaper is a Non Woven, and that means that it doesn´t shrink or expand when it´s wet. So whenever your installing this kind of wallpaper it´s perfect to glue directly on the wall. Spread the glue evenly for about two length at the time. In the corners, against the ceiling and down towards the floor I´ll use a brush. And don´t be afraid if the glue gets on the trim or the ceiling, it´s easy to wipe of while you´re working.
 
5. Here you can see that I got a little bit ahead.I always start from the top with my first lenght, and make sure you following the straight line (try to put the edge of the wallpaper about 1cm away from the line so the line doesn´t end up in the buttjoin. Do not overleaf this kind of wallpaper.
6.This is my favorite tool for wallpaper work. the blade is in a pretty hard plastic material, so it´s really works with all corners etc. And if you´re using this tool it´s crusial that you did a good job on step 2. I always start out from the top in the middle of the lenght, working myself down and make sure there is no Air bubbles or missed glue spots.
7. When the first lenght is properly installed it´s time to trim the edges. always make sure your razorblade is fresh and sharp, You don´t wanna rip this kind of photo wallpaper because you only have one chance when it comes to trim. I´m usally doing this on freehand following the ceiling or the trim, but sometimes it could be good to have a straight edge, or something similar to follow.
8. When i´ve installed a couple lenght and done the trimming and make sure there is no seethrough in the buttjoin there´s time to wash it. I´m usally doing this step after every two length. Using a natural sponge, and semi-warm water I´m washing all of the new wallpaper. If I didn´t do this step, there would be some really ugly stains on the wallpaper when it´s dry.
Now I just have to follow these steps to finish this off.
9. When it´s time for the last lenght it´s important that I make a nice ending. In this case there is a doorframe where the client wants me to stop. And of course it´s not a 100 percent straight, but if a would use a level, the eye would probably fool itself an believe that either the wallpaper or the doorframe isn´t straight. So in this case I´m using a straight edge cut blade to follow the doorframe. It makes a really nice and professional look to it.
This is the final look for this wall, I really like this wallpaper. And when you have an outlet on the wall like in the picture above, I usally leaves it on the spot, and doesnt remove it before it´s time to put the wallpaper there. I´m following all the steps above, and let the wallpaper hang loose over the outlet when I carefully cuts (with a razorblade or a scissor) the hole in the wallpaper, pull the Wallpaper forward, removes the outlet, glue the surface with a brush and then smoothing the wallpaper carefully.
 
 
 
 
Kommentera inlägget här: