theswedishcollection.blogg.se

Decorative Painting

bring out the Blue and Yellow, Sweden is here!

Kategori: Allmänt

 
 
This is my interpretation of the Swedish flag. It´s part of my "flag collection" I worked on a few years ago. 
I have always liked flags for some odd reason, I know it´s not the most common thing to have an interest in... I think it´s just me and Sheldon Cooper who fins flags so much fun. If you don´t get this reference you need to google or youtube "Sheldon Copper, Fun with Flags" haha

The Swedish flag dates from the 1550s , ie from the end of King Gustav Vasa. The inspiration for the Swedish flag was the Danish red and white korsbanéret , Dannebrog . The colors, blue and yellow were taken from the national emblem with its three golden crowns on a blue field . In the 1400s the national emblem was often been used as field signs for Swedish squad, both on land and at sea.

The flag was used primarily by the king and his armed forces, particularly the navy. From Gustav II Adolf - 1620s - there is photographic evidence that blue and yellow cross flags were used on Swedish ships. 
some history of the swedish flag, what other flag would you like to see here??
Kommentera inlägget här: